August “Finishing School” Birchbox Review

August’s Birchbox theme was “Finishing School” – extra touches that make you look more polished.

IMG_0927

The goodies:

IMG_0928

Whish Exfoliating Body Wash

As someone who has recently become more consistent in incorporating exfoliating into my beauty routine, I was happy to see this exfoliating body wash in the box. It uses sugar cane and bamboo powder to leave your skin soft. Yet another product that will fit nicely in my Fall travel kit! Update to come…

$21/6 oz

Whish Deodorant Swipe w/Hair Inhibitor

I’m not sure when this will get tried out, but it will more than likely end up in my purse emergency kit. The reviews seem to be pretty good overall, I’m just a little weary since I tend to sweat easily. This item was considered a “beauty extra” and supposedly helps slow hair growth as an added bonus. Update to come…

$17/20 count

IMG_0929

Cailyn Cosmetics Line Fix Gel Eyeliner in “Black”

I ended up giving this eyeliner to my mom since I typically don’t wear straight up black eyeliner – I prefer more of a charcoal color (which I actually have from another sub box). While I have yet to try this gel eyeliner, I have a feeling it will be incorporated into my Fall/Winter makeup with the weather cooling down soon. I am terrified of using a liquid liner, but gel promises to be a little more forgiving and allows you to move where you place it before setting. I love how they incorporate the brush into the packaging!

$20.65

Dr. Jart ++ Premium BB Cream SPF 45+

I learned my lesson after using this for the first time on Friday – it does NOT wash out of a beauty blender easily! I’ll be applying this with my hands from now on…Otherwise, the coverage is good and it survived a meltdown I had (literally, it was soooo hot – that’s what I get for trying to go shopping after work when wearing a knit jacket!).

$37.40/1.4 oz

IMG_0930

Miss Jessie’s Rapid Recovery Treatment

Birchbox included 2 Miss Jessie’s deep conditioning treatments this month, and I am stoked about trying them out! Being a girl with curls, this product line is on my list of hair products to try out. This deep conditioner is meant to help repair damaged locks. Update to come…

$26/8 oz

Miss Jessie’s Super Sweetback Treatment

I was able to get 2 uses out of this deep conditioner that promotes hair growth. I’m not sure if it’s the biotin that I recently started taking or the treatment, but my hair did have quite the growth spurt!

$26/8 oz

IMG_0931

Birchbox also included an info booklet containing Ann Taylor’s latest collections, along with coupons for 20% off 1 item and 30% off 2 or more items!

Want to check it out?

http://birch.ly/1aFSfSl

One comment

  1. Jarkie · September 8, 2013

    I received the Body wash and the deodorant wipe! I love love the exfoliating wash… I’m still confused as to my feelings about the wipe. It felt a bit… weird. Lol. Maybe I’m close-minded 😛

    I received the gel eyeliner in one of my other boxes and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. Your box looks so nice. I’m so jealous! Enjoy it ~ and nice review 🙂

Leave a comment